Testamonial Internship

I did an internship at Groundwork Fukuoka from the 25 November, 2015 to 9 February, 2016. I decided to choose Groundwork Fukuoka because I wanted to experience a real Japanese business which has a lot of cultural and environmental relationships. I had to work every week from Monday to Wednesday and my work times were usually from 10 am to 3 pm. However, these days and times varied occasionally because of the different events Groundwork Fukuoka organizes.

My main task in the office was to update the Japanese and English blogs, wherefore I often had to translate Japanese into English text. This was very difficult for me, because I had only taken two months of language courses at Asahi Nihongo language school before. Therefore, translations with a lot of unknown Kanjis were quite challenging.

Another big task was to think about Groundwork Fukuoka´s projects from the perspective of a foreign person. For example, Groundwork Fukuoka wants to rebuild an old folk house in the Yame area into a traditional Japanese restaurant. This restaurant should also be used by foreign people. Thus, they asked me to think on how to market this project to foreign people. Therefore, I came up with different ideas which were discussed in a meeting later on.

My other tasks in the office were preparing letters to be sent and redesign flyers or price tags. On the weekends, there were often events organized. For example, we went together to the traditional “Herb Garden” project held by Groundwork Fukuoka in cooperation with Panasonic. The garden is located next to a school for visually impaired children. Together we cleaned the whole garden and made it beautiful again. After that we had lunch together.

Another event took place on the same weekend as the “Herb Garden” event. We went to an open field in a rural area outside of Fukuoka city and met with people of this area. Together we harvested a lot of different vegetables which were sold by Groundwork Fukuoka afterwards. We prepared the field again to be planted with new vegetables in the upcoming spring.

All in all, the internship at Groundwork Fukuoka was a great experience for me and I would recommend it to all of you. Especially, the staff of Groundwork Fukuoka is very nice and we had a lot of fun together.

When I am back in Germany, I will probably do another internship. Further, I am going to prepare for my studies which will begin around September.

Thank you so much for the pleasant time!!

 

Sentences by Lion

 

Leave a Reply

