Intern’s self-introduction: Sherilyn

Photo 28-03-27 H 15 39 49

Hello, my name is Sherilyn. I am from Germany, Berlin and I am 23 years old. I am currently studying Sociology and Japanese studies, but I will graduate this summer. Starting from April on, I will do an internship at Groundwork Fukuoka for eight weeks.

I have become interested in Japan back in 2008 through music. When I visited Japan for the ­first time in 2009, I fell in love with this country. I started learning Japanese by myself, but decided to go to a language school in 2009 here in Fukuoka.

Although this is already my 7th time visiting Japan, it is the first time I am going to do an internship. Furthermore I started studying, as already been said, Japanese Studies and Sociology from 2012 on. During my studies, I have put the focus of my interest into the Japanese society. Besides that, I love the language and the culture. I am planning to write my bachelor thesis about the integration of socially disadvantaged people and marginal groups in Japan, that is why I thought Groundwork Fukuoka, which’s aim it is to work for a barrier-free society in which people can live happily, would be very interesting for me and I could learn a lot.

For my hobbies, I like drawing portraits, mostly of my favorite artists and listening to music.

I am looking forward to this internship!

Leave a Reply

